At last we are at #1, and my personal favorite Kenny Chesney. He was born Kenneth Arnold Chesney on March 26, 1968 in Knoxville, Tennessee. Son of David and Karen, a school teacher and hair stylist respectively, he was raised in Luttrell Tennessee with his sister Jennifer. He played football and baseball in high school, and went on to attend East Tennessee State University, where he became a brother of the Lambda Chi Alpha Fraternity. It was in college that Kenny really started playing country music, even citing it in “Keg in the Closet” when singing he played his guitar “on that Lambda Chi porch”. He graduated from East Tennessee State University with a degree in advertising in 1990, and went on to become a regular performer at a honky tonk bar named The Turf. From there, the rest is history.

Kenny Chesney has put out 15 albums, 14 of which are at least certified gold. He has also had over 30 top ten singles, 20 of which were number ones. He has been given many awards from an assortment of music associations, including the Academy of Country Music, American Music Awards, Billboard Music Awards, Country Music Association, Country Music Television, People’s Choice Awards and even the French Country Music Awards. He has also dabbled into film, producing and co-directing ESPN’s “The Boys of Fall,” in which he also wrote a song for. The film highlights high school football around the United States, something that clearly hits home for Chesney. He is also considered the most popular touring act out right now, and is basically a boss. To learn more about Kenny Chesney, click here.

Being that Kenny Chesney is my favorite artist, and a majority of my favorite songs are by him, it was very hard narrowing this post down to just a few songs. However, my favorite songs by Kenny are “Live a Little”,  “Out Last Night”,  “Keg in the Closet”, “Young”, “Don’t Blink”, “Ain’t Back Yet”, “I Go Back”, “Back Where I Come From”, “No Shoes, No Shirt, No Problems”, “Reality”, “How Forever Feels”, and “Down the Road”. To view Kenny’s YouTube channel, click here.

“Live a Little” and “Out Last Night” — I coupled these songs together because they both speak about letting loose and having a little fun when needed. In the first song, Kenny sings, “I need to live a little, have some fun/take some time, waste it on number one/find a girl that brings my whole world to a stop/live a little, love a lot”. To me, these lyrics truly show that when needed, Kenny likes to spend time on himself and spend time with a woman who he really respects. This is crucially important to keep in mind moving forward, because getting away and letting loose when needed is absolutely essential for a healthy lifestyle, and so is having someone in your life you really respect. The latter song is about Kenny going out last night. He sings, “yeah, we went out last night/one thing started leading to another/out last night/getting to know everybody and their mother/there were two karaoke girls drunk on a dare/singing “I Got You Babe” by Sonny and Cher/yeah, life was good everywhere/we went out last night”. This song really shows how going out can be a ton of fun, which is also very important to keep in mind moving forward. To watch the music videos for these songs, click here and here.

“Keg in the Closet” — This song truly talks about my college experience. Kenny sings, “we had a keg in the closet, pizza on the floor,/left over from the night before/where we were going we didn’t really care we had all we ever wanted,/and that keg in the closet”. These lyrics are very indicative of my college experience, from waking up with pizza on the floor to the keg in the closet. Also, being that I am ever so close to graduation, the lyrics speaking about not caring and having all we ever wanted may be true for the next couple of weeks, but in the end it will come to an end and I will have to move on from this free and easy life I call college. To watch this music video, click here.

“Young” and “Don’t Blink” — These songs are coupled together because they both speaking about being young. The first song talks about being young, and how it felt then compared to now. Kenny sings, “man I don’t know/where the time goes/but it sure goes fast/just like that we were/wanna be rebels who didn’t have a clue/with our rock n’ roll t-shirts/and our typically bad attitudes/had no excuses for the things that we’d done/we were brave, we were crazy, we were mostly/young , young, young/yeah wishin’ we were older/young/hey I wish it wasn’t over”. He talks about being young and how it felt then, how he wished he was older at the time, and now he wishes it wasn’t over. This is crucial as I get older, I have to cherish these moments when I still have time for all the fun, stupid and ridiculous nonsense before I am too old to get away with it. The second song is about a man older in life, reminiscing about his life, and also giving some pointers as how to live while still young. Kenny sings, “I was glued to my TV when it looked like he looked at me and said/“best start putting first things first”/cause when your hourglass runs out of sand/you can’t flip it over and start again/take every breathe God gives you for what it’s worth/don’t blink/just like that you’re six years old and you take a nap and you/wake up and you’re twenty-five and your high school sweetheart becomes your wife/don’t blink/you just might miss your babies growing like mine did/turning into moms and dads next thing you know your “better half”/of fifty years is there in bed/and you’re praying God takes you instead/trust me friend a hundred years goes faster than you think/so don’t blink”. This is important to understand moving forward, even though not blinking is humanly impossible, I know that I have to live life to the fullest every moment I can. To check out the videos for these songs, click here and here.

“Ain’t Back Yet”, “I Go Back” and “Back Where I Come From” — I put these songs together because they speak about early life and what that means moving forward. In the first song Kenny sings, “lookin’ back at the moments, black white/I wouldn’t change a thing that changed my life/for the worse, for the better/man, I was gone, gone forever/the laughs, the smiles, the trials, the tears/it’s hard to hate what got me here/what got me here”. In this song, Kenny sings about how he is gone and “ain’t back yet”, however it is also his way of remembering everything that got him to where he is now. The second song is about how Kenny remembers certain moments in his life when he hears a certain Billy Joel song. Kenny sings, “we all have a song that somehow stamped our lives/takes us to another place and time/so I go back to a pew, preacher, and a choir/singin’ about God, brimstone and fire/and the smell of Sunday chicken after church/and I go back to the loss of a real good friend/and the sixteen summers I shared with him/now “Only the Good Die Young” stops me in my tracks/and every time I hear that song/I go back, I go back”. Billy Joel’s “Only the Good Die Young” reminds him of his childhood friend, whom he spend 16 years with. This is important to remember moving forward, not because I have lost my good childhood friend, but because things happen quickly in life, and there is no telling what is around the corner. Therefore, you have to cherish what you have while you have it. The last song speaks about remembering where he came from. In this song written by Mac McAnally for Kenny Chesney, Kenny sings, “back where I come from /where I’ll be when it’s said and done /I’m proud as anyone/that’s where I come from”. This is important to keep in mind moving forward because no matter who I am as I get older, there is only one place that I come from, and that place has made me who I am today, and therefore I can never forget it. To check out these music videos, click here, here and here.

“No Shoes, No Shirt, No Problems” and “Reality” — The first song is about getting away from the everyday mundane in order to recharge and recuperate. Kenny sings, “I’ve been up to my neck workin 6 days a week/wearin holes in the soles of the shoes on my feet/been dreamin of gettin away since I don’t know/ain’t no better time than now for Mexico/no shoes, no shirt, no problems/blues what blues? Hey I forgot ‘em/the sun and the sand and a drink in my hand with no bottom,/and no shoes, no shirt, n’ no problems”. This video also plays another role in my life besides giving me advice for my future, it is the song I sang for my sign language final. The second song is Kenny singing about getting away from reality when needed. He sings, “reality, yeah, sometimes life/ain’t all that it’s cracked up to be/so let’s take a chance and live this fantasy/’cause everybody needs to break free from reality”. These lyrics really show that when you need to get away and maybe be someone else for a time, you should do so in order to keep yourself rested and sane. To watch these songs’ music videos, click here and here.

“How Forever Feels” and “Down the Road” — These two songs speak about love in the future. In the first song Kenny sings, “saved two months, bought a little diamond/tonight’s the night, feels like perfect timin’/down on one knee on momma’s front steps,/man I’m gonna die if she really says yes/I wanna know how forever feels/I’ve been around the block a time or two/done almost everything a boy can do/I’ve done some livin’, yeah I’ve had fun/but there is one thing that I haven’t done”. The thing that he hasn’t done is spending his life with a woman he loves. I want a wife and kids in the future. Another song like the previous one is “Down the Road”. In the song, Kenny likes a girl who lives “down the road”, and when he eventually asks her out, “her momma wants to know/am I washed in the blood or just in the water/her daddy wants to know/if I make enough to take his daughter/down the road”. Later in the song, it is Kenny’s daughter that likes a boy down the street, and of course it is the same thing. But now, Kenny and his wife are the ones who want to make sure that the boy is clean, trustworthy and dependable. This is important to keep in mind moving forward, as I want to have a little girl of my own. The music videos for these songs can be found below.

About John

I am a senior at Seton Hall University, majoring in Public Relations.

Leave a Reply

