Tim McGraw
was born in Delhi, Louisiana on May 1, 1967 to Betty D’Agostino and Tug McGraw Jr., who was a professional baseball player for the New York Mets and the Philadelphia Phillies. As a child, Tim played competitive sports like baseball. He went to the University of Louisiana at Monroe on a baseball scholarship and became a brother of the Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity. During his college years is when he learned to play guitar and sing. He married Faith Hill, a great female country artist, on October 6, 1996 and have had three children since then.

He started his professional career in 1990 when he signed onto Curb Records. Since that time, out of the 181 songs that he has released, he has had over 10 consecutive albums become number one and a total of 21 songs climb to number one. He was on the receiving end of a total of 41 awards for his music. He has become the biggest country music artist since Garth Brooks, whom he still has to surpass. Tim has also acted, appearing in 6 movies. Has a star on the Hollywood walk of fame, shown here. For more information on Tim McGraw, click here.

My favorite songs by Tim McGraw are “Where the Green Grass Grows”, “My Next Thirty Years” and “Live Like You Were Dying”.

“Where the Green Grass Grows” — This song is about the fact that Tim came from a small town, a place that he calls a “map dot” compared to other places. He wanted to get out of there ASAP, and now that he has experienced all of the glamour, he wants to go back and live “where the green grass grows”. He also mentions that away from his true home, he doesn’t even know who his neighbors are. Where I end up living later on in life is truly important to me. I want the comfort of living in a friendly neighborhood where I know everyone, and if I can help it, I would love to live out in the country where I can truly relax when I’m home. You can see this music video here.

“My Next Thirty Years” — This song was actually written by Phil Vassar. It is Tim McGraw’s way of telling his aspirations for his future. It’s like he knew I was going to blog about him. He says the things he wants to do in the “next thirty years.” He wants to do things like “celebrate my age”, “focus in on where I go from here”, “have some fun”, “laugh a little more” and “raise a little family and hang out with my wife”. I think this song speaks to everyone’s future as Tim sings about things that most people want later on in life. You can listen to this song here.

“Live Like You Were Dying” — Here it is, my favorite by McGraw. This song is about a man with an ailment that makes him believe that the end of his life is sooner rather than later. He asks what he should do now that time is almost over, and the lyric that best answers the question is “what I’d do if I could do it all again”. This song is a realization of all of the things that went wrong in his life, like when “I was finally the husband,/that most the time I wasn’t”. He realizes that living his life over in the short time he has left is what he gets to do. He is then told, “I went sky diving, I went rocky mountain climbing/I went two point seven seconds on a bull named Fu Man Chu/and I loved deeper and I spoke sweeter,/and I gave forgiveness I’d been denying/someday, I hope you get the chance,/to live like you were dyin’”. This song is big to me as I was once told to live life to the fullest, and tha is what he is instructed to do. I wouldn’t call myself an adrenaline junkie, but any chance to exert a little of it and I’m there. I’ve went skydiving, mountain climbing and have rode most types of 2, 3 and 4 wheelers. You can watch the music video for this song below.

About John

I am a senior at Seton Hall University, majoring in Public Relations.

Leave a Reply

