Billy Currington was born on November 19, 1973 in Savannah, Georgia. He was born into a family of 7, and currently has a dog named Paco. While attending Effingham County High School, Billy auditioned for Opryland, which is a country music theme park in Nashville, Tennessee. After he didn’t get the part, he finished high school and then moved to Nashville. To make ends meet, while pursuing his career as a musician, he worked for a concrete company and also worked as a personal trainer. After years of trying, he was signed onto Mercury Records in 2003, the story only begins here.

From the four albums he has released (Billy Currington, Doin’ Somethin’ Right, Little Bit of Everything and Enjoy Yourself) he has charted 6 number one hits. They are “Must Be Doin’ Somethin’ Right”, “Good Directions”, “People Are Crazy”, “That’s How Country Boys Roll”, “Pretty Good at Drinkin’ Beer”, and “Let Me Down Easy”. For more information on Billy Currington, click here.

My favorite songs by Billy are “That’s How Country Boys Roll”, “I Got a Feelin’”, “Let Me Down Easy”, “Like My Dog”, “Pretty Good at Drinkin’ Beer”, and “People Are Crazy”. To check out Billy Currington’s Youtube channel, click here.

“That’s How Country Boys Roll” — There are many phrases in this song that I like. In this song, Billy sings about how country boys are. He says “they love their woman one beat shy of a heart attack”, “yeah, they work, work, work, all week til the job gets done”, “they run on a big ol’ heart and a pinch of Skoal”, and “they do everything heart and soul”. The second verse consists of my favorite lines of the song, “Well if you don’t know your way around/they’ll draw you a map/and if you’re broke and you ask/they’ll give you the shirt off their back/all they need is a little gas/a few dollars to fold/that’s how country boy roll”. This song really speaks to the way I like to carry and conduct myself now and in the future. You can see the music video to this song here.

“I Got a Feelin’” and “Let Me Down Easy” — These two songs convey a complete message about women and love. In the first, Billy sings about the way you feel when you think you’ve found someone. He states, “I got a feelin’/my head’s a reelin’/my heart is screamin’/I’m about to bust loose/bottled up emotion/It’s more than a notion/it starts with an “I”/and ends with a “U”/I got a feelin’/are you feelin’ it too”. In the song, he fights himself from saying that three word phrase until he feels it is the right time. I agree with this as it is a phrase to use when and only when it is truly meant. In the second song, Billy is talking about himself and a girl, and wants to ensure that if “I leave my heart with you tonight, will you promise me that you’re gonna treat it right”. To listen to these songs, click here or here, respectively.

“Like My Dog” — I like the easy tone and feel of this song, it’s simple and fun to listen to. However, I have to say that I do not agree with Billy in this song. This song suggests that Billy’s girlfriend should love him like hi dog, unconditionally no matter what. However, I think that in real life, a relationship is give and take, and therefore each person has to put in the right amount of work, and therefore neither can be lazy. That is definitely something to keep in mind moving forward. To check out the music video for this song, visit here.

“Pretty Good at Drinkin’ Beer” — Well uhh, yeah I am and probably always will be. This song can be found here.

“People Are Crazy” – This song is about wisdom, mistakes, learning from those mistakes and friendship. Billy meets an “old man” in a bar and ends up talking with him for the whole night. As they drink together, they talk about politics, women, habits, the things they’ve done and anything that comes up. The old man likes to revert to the same saying, which I believe is quite accurate. He states, “God is great, beer is good and people are crazy”. The song ends with the old man passing away and leaving his estate to Billy instead of his kids, which really speaks to the friendship that he made. This is my favorite song by Billy Currington, and one that I believe really tells you about life in a nutshell. Basically, “God is great, beer is good and people are crazy”. The music video for this song can be found below.

About John

I am a senior at Seton Hall University, majoring in Public Relations.

Leave a Reply

