Rodney Atkins was born on March 28, 1969 in Knoxville, Tennessee, the same birthplace as Kenny Chesney. However, Rodney did not stay in Knoxville for too long. As a child he was up for adoption and was adopted twice and given back both times because he was very sick. When he was adopted by Margaret and Allan Atkins, he went to live with them in their home in Cumberland Gap, Tennessee, where his illness would worsen before it got better. No matter what, Margaret and Allan would never give up on him. He went to high school at Powell Valley High and went to college at Tennessee Tech. at Tennessee Tech, he attended classes, worked and played baseball. He would also go to Nashville to play and write songs.

His famous career started in 1996 when he was signed to Curb Records, and hasn’t looked back since. Three of his songs have made it to number one on the charts, including “If You’re Going Through Hell” and “Watching You”, which were the number one songs of 2006 and 2007, respectively. Currently, he has a number one song, which is “Take a Back Road”. For more information on Rodney Atkins, click here.

My favorite songs by Rodney Atkins are a couple of the number one hits mentioned before and one other, “These Are My People”, “If You’re Going Through Hell” and “Take a Back Road”. You can view his channel on YouTube here.

“These Are My People” — This is Rodney Atkins’s song about where he came from. He sings about where he grew up and the people he grew up with. The chorus goes “these are my people/this is where I come from/were givin’ this life everything we got and then some/it ain’t always pretty/but it’s real/it’s the way we were made/wouldn’t have it any other way/these Are My People.” I have to agree with these lyrics. Everyone has roots and where they come from may not be the best. I know what he means by this, and I too give it my all and wouldn’t have it any other way. I am damn proud of where I come from, and in the future, I never want to forget or deny where I have come from. This song can be found here.

“If You’re Going Through Hell” — This one is Rodney singing about being down and that it seems that everyone has kicked him while he was down. He has a broken heart and things aren’t looking up, but that’s when he learns that you just have to keep pushing on in order to get better. The chorus states, “if you’re going through hell/keep on going, don’t slow down/if you’re scared, don’t show it/you might get out/before the devil even knows you’re there.” He goes on to state that there are people who will lend you a helping hand, suggesting that nothing is ever as bad as it seems. I agree with this and I hope that in my future, when things go bad, I will have people to turn to and I never forget that nothing is as bad as it seems. This song can be found here.

“Take a Back Road” — In my opinion, this is the best song by Rodney Atkins. It is about just getting away from your everyday life and being able to relax and kick it. He states that he wants to get away from a ‘six-lane backed up traffic’ by taking a back road, and even states that he doesn’t mind if he were to hit a traffic jam, as long as it is made by a tractor. For Rodney, taking a back road is a way to remember his roots, remember the good times and most importantly, a way to “unwind and unravel.” It is something that I want in my life as I get older. Between the job and all of the duties that I will have in the future, I want to be able to get out of the traffic and just get away every once in a while. The music video for this song can be found below.

About John

I am a senior at Seton Hall University, majoring in Public Relations.

Leave a Reply

