Dierks Bentley was born on November 20, 1975 in Phoenix, Arizona. His first name, Dierks, is actually his mother’s maiden name, and at the age of thirteen, he taught himself how to play guitar. When he turned 19, Dierks moved to Nashville to work for The Nashville Network, which is SpikeTV today. He went on to attended Vanderbilt University, where he became a brother of Sigma Alpha Epsilon. Dierks is married to his wife Cassidy, and lives in Nashville with her, their daughters Evelyn and Jordan, and their dogs Jake and George. Jake can be seen in some of Dierks’ music videos.

From the age of thirteen, he attributes his musical influences to Hank Williams Jr., George Jones and the Del McCoury Band (who are three greats in country music for those who are not familiar with their work). He has been nominated for 7 Grammy’s, but hasn’t won yet. Although he has won 4 awards from other awards shows and has 7 number one hits. He has sparked a country concert clothing staple for girls with his hit song “What Was I Thinkin’”, that staple is a white tank top and jeans. As a huge hockey fan, Dierks even played during game seven of the finals last year. Dierks also has an annual bike ride called the Miles & Music For Kids Celebrity Motorcycle Ride. For more information on Dierks Bentley, click here.

Alright, now on to his music, Dierks sings about many things that are close to him, like all country singers. My favorite songs by him are “Sideways”, “What Was I Thinkin’”, and “Home”.

“Sideways” — This song is for the guys who have a job from Monday through Friday, and who like to let loose on the weekends. The song is about getting ‘sideways’, which basically means different from the normal. When I’m working a 9-5 in the not so distant future, I want to have the ability to let loose on the weekends, and that’s why this is one of the songs that shows my aspirations in the future. It is a fun song to listen to, and can be found here.

“What Was I Thinkin’” — This is a song about the mistake of courting a woman that he was not allowed to. In the song, Dierks picks up this girl in his truck and runs away with her, running away from her father and the cops. He even fights another guy at a bar who tried to cut in. This is a song about the mistakes that people make in life when they live in the moment, for the moment. In my future, I’m not saying I would like to make mistakes like this, but I am saying that they happen and that I would like to gain the wisdom from them. The song can be found here.

“Home” — This song is about America. Dierks starts out by talking about taking a plane west and seeing the land beneath him where he was born. He goes on to talk about the scars that America has, the freedom that encompasses it and makes it and all of us strong, and the bravery that it encompasses. He also talks about our forefathers, the brave men who traveled across the sea and signed their names on the Declaration of Independence, who signed their names on something they believed in. He also says that “it’s been a long hard ride” and that we’ve “got a ways to go”, but that America is still the place that “we all call home.” This song talks about things I want in my future because I have a ton of pride in my country. I mean I would like to travel and see other places and lands, but there is only one home for me. I come from a strong military background, and knowing that there is nothing in life that comes free, fighting for America is something that hits close to home. In my future, the only place that I want to settle down and live in is America. The music video for this song can be found below.

About John

I am a senior at Seton Hall University, majoring in Public Relations.

Leave a Reply

